jump to navigation

All Talk on Super Bowl XLII February 4, 2008

Posted by Marquis Chapman in Football, NFL, Sports, Super Bowl.
trackback
Super Bowl XLII

I’m still in shock that the Giants were able to defeat the Patriots 17-14.  Here are some notes on the greatest Super Bowl game I have ever watched.

Peyton Who? 

Eli Manning shut-up all the critics with his performance on Sunday.  Manning completed 19 of 34 passes for 255 yards and 2 touchdowns.  Manning completed the game winning touchdown to Burress with 35 seconds left in the game, and was named Super Bowl MVP.  Tiki Barber should officially be banned from commentating on the NFL.

Plaxico is the New Ms. Cleo 

I guess Plaxico Burress can see the future.  His prediction of the Giants defeating the Pats 23-17 was awfully close to the real score of 17-14.  Burress clinched the game with his game winning TD from Manning and gave a big I Told You So to all the doubters.

Defense Wins Championships

You have to give a lot of credit to the New York Giants defense, especially the front four.  To stop an offensive machine like the Pats is an amazing feat.  Brady was never able to get into a rhythm as he was hurried almost every play and sacked five times.  He took some pretty hard shots when trying to get throws off.  Justin Tuck played out of his mind this game.  He and the front four completely changed the game.

4th and 13?!

The Patriots lost by 3 points.  They had an opportunity to kick a 49 yard field goal in the first half, as they were leading 7-3, but decided to go for it on 4th and 13.  Nuff said.

Wide Receivers Were Ballin

Wes Walker was becoming Brady’s #1 target this game.  Welker had 11 catches for 103 yards.  Moss had 5 catches for 62 yards and what many thought was the game clinching TD. Rookie Steve Smith really stepped up for the Giants.  Smith made some crucial catches and found ways to get open. Besides Burress’s game winning TD, the catch of the night had to be David Tyree’s 32 yard catch on 3rd and 5 with 57 seconds left in the game.  To be able to hold on to that ball with Rodney Harrison trying to punch it out was an incredible play.   Earlier in the game, Tyree recorded his first touchdown of the season off a 5 yard pass from Manning.

18-1 Has to Hurt

While I’m happy that Michael Strahan and Amani Toomer finally got their rings, my heart goes out to the Pats.  To be perfect in the regular season and lose the big one has to hurt.  I don’t know how a team can recover from that, and I’m not so sure if they will.  I’m really curious to see if Junior Seau will return next season.  The Pats are human now, and are fair game for the rest of the league.  Can’t wait to see how they’ll respond.

 

Comments»

1. K.C. - February 4, 2008

Tottally agree with all your points. The defense for N.Y. was great I posted on this site earlier that I thought the Pats would win, but not by much boy was I wrong. There were a few sub-plots that I had working in my mind. As I stated earlier I am not a Giants or Eli fan , but I kind of wanted him to win because of what Tiki said. I also wanted to see Moss get a ring only because hes played lights out all year and hes been a good soldier. Then again as much as I liked the way Junior Seau plays I didnt like the way he tried to un-retire and get a ring with the Pats through the back door. Eli was great. Steve Smith was great. Plax. was great. Strahan and Tuck were great. My only wish is that what doesnt get lost in all of this hoopla is how GREAT David Tyree played. It is true big time players play big in big time games, but it is also true that a small time player can rise to the occasion and make a difference in a big game. He caught a touchdown and then he made an amazing catch. Some are going to say it was luck. But to climb that high and have the grit and the where-with -all to fight and hang on to the ball was crazy. Eli and Plax are going to get a lot of credit. And deservedly so. But years from now when you think of this game dont forget Mr. Tyree I know I will not. As for the Pats for all they have accomplished this season the season seems incomplete without the ring .They got beat by the better team that day.

2. Real Talk TC - February 4, 2008

(sigh).. if i werent so macho, i would still be crying. 18-0 didnt mean a thing without the ring. im glad for eli and the giants but…. but i wanted this one bad for randy. i really did. im more hurt for him than i am the entire patriots team. well, i guess we r just gunna have to wait and c wut happens next yr.

3. spartan38 - February 4, 2008

I really didn’t have a definite favorite coming into the game. I was feeling for the Giants as I always seem to want the underdog to defy the odds and win when I don’t have a favorite. After the Pats lost I sort of felt sad for them being perfect in every game except for the one that counted the most. It almost seemed like it was their right to come out with a W. From the glimpse of the game that I witnessed, it was definitely a competitive, exciting one.

4. asiansportsfanatic - February 4, 2008

Let this be a lesson for us all.. CHEATERS NEVER WIN!

1st time without Spygate in the Super Bowl. No spygate, no Super Bowl win.

Going 18-1 and undefeated in the regular season is OK, but of not great like the 72 Dolphins. The Pats are not great…

Lets start blaming Gisele for Brady playin like crap just like we blamed Jessica for Romo’s demise.

5. Sportsattitude - February 4, 2008

As I stated earlier, I figured it right the Giants would score first and last…but about those 38 points I figured New England would put up in between…oh my. The Giants made the Patriots look quite human indeed. History will probably call this the greatest upset of all Super Bowls and that’s probably stating it correctly…but I think a lot of folks are getting carried away with the “best Super Bowl ever” stuff. So many people wanted the Pats to lose their imaginations are running wild and the past classic games are easily being forgotten. It was a great game to watch. It was a great effort by the Giants. It was not a great game. I like Asiansportsfanatic taking a shot at Gisele. Why not? He played like a supermodel – just standing around getting his picture taken.

6. Benjamin Watanabe - February 4, 2008

I’m definitely with you on that Super Bowl XLII was the greatest Super Bowl I’ve ever watched. I was going for the Giants, but I’m not going to lie I wouldn’t have minded seeing the Patriots win and seeing history made.

7. Young Kristoff - February 5, 2008

I think this superbowl might have been the 2nd greatest superbowl I have seen. (2nd of course to the rams vs. titans game) I thought that the New York Giants Defense, outshined the patriots offense. Also i thought that they played better then the giants offense, because at times the iants had to punt the ball away, and the giants would be right there getting t eball back for the offense. Eli played a hell of a game. Toomer plpayed a hell of a game, and tyree played the game of his life. Steve smith also made crucial plays. Burress was due for the game winner. The giants wide receivers made more crucial catches in the game then the patriots. Bilichick should have not came out in that red cut off sweater.

8. Ick - February 5, 2008

SUCK IT TIKI!!!!

9. Sportsattitude - February 5, 2008

Young Kristoff picked my favorite for greatest Super Bowl ever…Rams-Titans…not just the finish at the one-yard line…the whole game was tense and hard fought, and the teams played solid throughout. Obviously, the older you are the more you a) have seen and b) might forget(!)…I’m old enough to have seen all the Super Bowls and remember most all of ‘em and Rams-Titans is my pick for greatest Super Bowl game of all-time.

10. Marquis Chapman - February 5, 2008

I was going for the Titans that game. I’ve always been a big fan of Steve McNair and I wanted him and Eddie George to get a ring. McNair played a great game and and showed the world how tough he is. Just one yard short.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

