jump to navigation

My Beef with Kobe Part I: A Lil’ Too Much Like Mike August 13, 2007

Posted by Marquis Chapman in Basketball, NBA, Sports.
trackback

Before you read this post, it’s important to note that I was once a big Kobe Bryant fan.  Earlier in Kobe’s career I don’t think you could have found a bigger supporter. I think he is an amazing talent and the most skilled player in the league right now. So please, don’t call me a Kobe hater.  I used to like the guy.  The last couple of years however, I’ve had some issues with Kobe Bryant.

One of the first issues I started having with Kobe was his mannerisms on the court.  Now, I am a huge Michael Jordan fan.  He is without a doubt,  my favorite basketball player of all time.  He is and always will be the best basketball player ever to play the game. I know everything there is to know about the guy and watched his tapes hundreds of times. So it started to bother me a little bit how Kobe’s mannerisms were exactly the same as Jordans. 

Now, I’m not talking about the way he played, meaning it didn’t bother me that Kobe shot his fadaway the same as Jordan and had similiar moves. Anyone who watched tapes of Jordan would mimic his moves, and if you watched him a lot, you tended to play like him.  What I’m talking about is Kobe copying Mike’s signature mannerisms verbatim. 

Next time you watch a Laker game, take a closer look at Bryant.  The pumping of the fist after great plays, it’s exactly the same as Jordans! The way he talks to his teammates, it’s exactly the same as Jordans! The way Jordan used to hit the floor with his fist after game winners, it’s exactly the same as Jordans!  The clapping of the hands after an And 1, it’s exactly the same as Jordans!   Every now and then, you might even see Bryant stick out his tongue.  We young people sometimes call this swagger jacking or jocking someone’s style.

Many Bryant supporters will argue against this accusation, by saying it just comes from watching so many hours of tape, but you’d have to be crazy to think Kobe Bryant is the only person to study Jordan.  There are a lot of guys in the league that  have watched countless hours of tape on MJ. Everyone knows Iverson was a big fan of Jordan, but Iverson clearly has a style of his own.  I’m sure Lebron has watched his fair amount of footage on Jordan, but I have yet to see Lebron have the exact same mannerisms. Dwayne Wade is another example of a player that always watched MJ, having grown up in Chicago, but Wade does not copy Michael Jordan at all.

Anyone, who is a big fan of Michael Jordan knows exactly what I’m talking about, and if you don’t, just watch an old game of his from 1985-2003. I guarantee you’ll see those signature mannerisms that Kobe blatanly copies.  The film doesn’t lie.

Be sure to check back on Wednesday for Part II of My Beef with Kobe

 

Comments»

1. The Mixtape Monster - August 13, 2007

Can’t wait for the second part of this.

I’m a bonafide Kobe hater. I agree, he WANTS to be Jordan. Unlike Lebron, who idolizes Jordan, but wants to be LEBRON.

Kobe won’t win another ring for the rest of his career, unless he joins a dynasty late in his career to piggyback off of someone else’s squad. In fact, as long as he’s with the Lakers and keeps being an asshole, I doubt they make it out of round 1.

Props on the post, I’ll be lookin for pt 2

2. Sportsattitude - August 13, 2007

Very interesting post. I admire Kobe for his talent but still wondering who the real Kobe is even after all these years in the spotlight. Complex dude for sure. The Lakers certainly are borderline playoff challengers with their existing roster. I will definitely make it a point to check out the Jordan copy-cat moves. Sounds like you’re on to something there.

3. Chase King - August 29, 2007

Yes I think that Kobe Byrant does have alot of mannerims as Jordan but he also has alot that he has as his own. Ever notice the shaking of the head as he hits a game winner in sumbodys face. Or have you noticed after hitting a game winner he does the soaring bird. Yes, before you say he is a bitter take a deeper look at Kobe. When you want to get good you study someone in their entirety. Entering the league at seventeen you have not found yourself as a person. So you do things like how others do it. Why not do it like the best.

4. otoy - September 3, 2007

yup! if you close your eyes and just listens on the way he talks you’ll think he is michael jordan. and c’mon he cant deny the fact that he loves michael jordan hehehe its pretty obvious even if he doesnt say it..

5. withmalice - December 25, 2007

You can find fault with anyone if you look hard enough I guess, and there’s no doubt that Kobe brings a lot of it on himself… but this pretty much reeks of just looking for an excuse to hate on him. As Chase said, there are a helluva lot of ‘mannerisms’ (still struggling with the fact that we’re even discussing ‘mannerisms’ as a reason to dislike someone) that are all Kobe’s. Pumping fists? That was done waaaaay before Jordan’s time, or are we going to have a go at MJ over jocking Oscar?

I have no problem you not liking Kobe, he annoys the hell outta me sometime… but it’s a reach.

6. Marquis Chapman - December 25, 2007

I know it may seem like a reach, but just trust me on this one. I guess as a Jordan fan, you notice it more than the other fans.

7. cc - May 18, 2009

its not like MJ started it though =/

8. Rich Muhlach - May 3, 2011

2 years delayed commenting, but pop over to nbaoffseason.com and there’s a gif of Wade during the 2011 NBA Playoffs practicing the exact same pump fake Jordan does

9. Rich Muhlach - May 3, 2011

sorry, make that 4 years delayed… i looked at the comment from 2009 by mistake


Leave a Reply

