jump to navigation

My Beef with Kobe Part IV: Final Thoughts August 19, 2007

Posted by Marquis Chapman in Basketball, NBA, Sports.
trackback

We’ve finally reached the end of the series discussing my beef with Kobe Bryant.  I enjoyed reading the comments and  I was suprised to read that many of you somewhat agreed with me.  Living in L.A., it is extremely rare to see someone acknowledge the many flaws Kobe has as a person and a teammate.

The main reason why I wrote this series is due to the fact that so many fans of Bryant get caught up in his amazing talent, overlooking how much of a selfish player he is.  Sure, his selfishness isn’t shown flamboyantly like other athletes such as Terrell Ownens, but  that’s largely due to the fact that Bryant is extremely careful of how he’s perceived through the media.  Kobe Bryant is an athlete that cares about his image and wants to be liked by everyone, but like I said in Part III, a person’s true colors are shown when things are going bad.

I think this summer, many fans saw a glimpse of the real Kobe Bryant. By going to the media first and belittling management and teammates, Bryant showed a lack of respect for the entire Laker organization. I was somewhat disgusted at that ordeal, especially when he demanded to be traded. I think it’s important to note that Kobe Bryant is not the only player in NBA history that has been mislead by management.  I guess if Kobe demanded a trade, players like Allen Iverson, Tracy McGrady, and Kevin Garnett should have just retired a long time ago.  These were all players that did not recieve any help for years, and still managed to be somewhat classy about things and keep their issues with the team within the organization.

It’s funny to think that Bryant had all the help he needed when Shaq was there.  I’m not going to say that Kobe drove Shaq out, but he certaintly didn’t petition him to stay either.  Shaq is a player that wants to win championships, and I think he’s proven to be a team player and a very likeable teammate.  If Kobe wasn’t in such a hurry to be the man, I firmly believe the Lakers would have won atleast 2 more championships.

Now, Kobe is in a postion that he’s only brought upon himself. He has no help, and there aren’t any signs that any will be arriving any time soon.  I don’t see the Lakers drastically improving their team in the near future, and I only see Kobe getting more and more frustrated with management. This will undoubtly lead to Kobe showing more and more of his real personality, and readers might very well be seeing an extended version of My Beef with Kobe in the near future.

 

 

 

 

Comments»

1. tsos20 - August 19, 2007

The idea Kobe “ran” Shaq out has been debunked. Shaq now believes and Kobe stated, he had nothing to do with it. Don’t you believe them?
The Sultan on Sports

http://www.tsos20.wordpress.com

2. Marquis Chapman - August 19, 2007

Like I said in the article, Kobe didn’t run Shaq out of there, but he definately didn’t want him to stay. The constant feuding played a role in management choosing one player over the other. But, my point is that there shouldn’t have been a feud in the first place. Kobe wanted to be the man on that team. I don’t understand why he couldn’t have waited 3 or 4 more years, won a couple of more rings, let Shaq retire a Laker, and then have it become his team.

3. tsos20 - August 20, 2007

He certainly has missed Shaq more than Shaq’s missed him.
The Sultan on Sports

4. withmalice - December 25, 2007

I disagree.
Shaq did assist in getting Miami a title (tho’ I give main props to D-Wade, not O’Neal), but has since become a nigh-on-unmanageable burden on the Heat’s roster.
He gets paid $20mil a year, and barely plays 2/3 of a season. Add to that, he at 35 lacks the ability to stop the better big men in the league now.
Miami’s team is in hock, due to O’Neals millstone of a contract.

As has been stated in comments in your earlier articles, Kobe has stated that he did not have any part in getting Shaq out of LA, and that for his part, O’Neal believes him.
I believe that Shaq was traded because was demanding the huge contract he now possesses in Miami, and Jerry Buss refused to pay it. I think that was pretty astute of Buss in retrospect, tho’ I also think that LA could’ve gotten more out of the trade.

I disagree that LA would’ve won two more titles… LA would’ve faced a surging San Antonio, and a skilled Dallas unit – neither of which I belive LA would’ve been able to beat with O’Neal as the key big.
Miami came through to their finals win through a very weak Eastern Conference, and I still believe that in the 2006 finals, Dallas lost it, not ‘Miami won’… and within that team, it was Wade, not O’Neal who won the series.
He was amazing in that, redolent of an MJ in his prime.

Still, pretty well-written… I just believe that you’re a lil’ too keen to find fault in one of the best players of our time, and that’s a pity.
Whilst he has his flaws (and honestly, who doesn’t?), I prefer just to sit back, watch, and be amazed.

5. Marquis Chapman - December 25, 2007

Great point, but you have to realize how much attention Shaq gets when he gets the ball. The year the Heat won the title, Shaq was seeing double and triple teams on the regular. Shaq may not be dominating as much as he used to, but he still gets players open shots and makes Wade’s job a lot easier… Maybe not so much this year though. lol


Leave a Reply

