jump to navigation

All Talk on the Clemens and McNamee Conversation January 8, 2008

Posted by Marquis Chapman in Baseball, MLB, Sports.
trackback

Roger Clemens’ press conference on Monday didn’t hurt Clemens, but it certainly didn’t help him either. It did however, offer a taped 17 minute conversation between Clemens and McNamee, which took place on January 4th. 

While listening to the conversation, the one thing that stuck out in my mind, occurred towards the end of the conversation.  There were a few instances where McNamee constantly asked Clemens what he wanted him to do.  Here are some of the excerpts:

Roger, Roger, tell me what the (expletive deleted) you want me to do. What do you want me to do. My son is dying. He’s 10.

Tell me what you want me to do. I told you in the (unintelligible). What do you want me to do? I’ll go to jail, I’ll do whatever you want.

Tell me what you want me to do. I’m firing my lawyers. I’m getting rid of everybody. I have nothing. What do you want me to do? My wife is gone. My kids are gone. What do you want me to do?

First and foremost, it’s safe to say that Brian McNamee is very close to losing it.  He sounded very distraught in the conversation.  I’m not sure why he would try to contact Clemens and I can’t figure out why he would offer to go to jail, as well as constantly ask Clemens what he wanted him to do.  I also believe, along with many other people, that Clemens could have done a better job of clearing his name. I’m aware of the fact that Clemens had to be very careful of what he said due to legal matters, but if he had no involvement with steroids, he should have simply told McNamee, “I did not do steroids and you lied.” 

 

Comments»

1. Sportsattitude - January 8, 2008

Yeah, when you hear the tape you clearly get the feeling both of these guys knew enough not to say anything incriminating, which makes you wonder what the hell was Clemens’ purpose. After hearing a bunch of commentary from all different directions, I have drawn the conclusion McNamee feels horrible about diming out a guy who made his life quite comfortable, but he had to. He’s so out of it now, he’s still trying to keep Clemens as a friend. Clemens on the other hand has to be guilty and was taping that conversation in the hopes McNamee would say something he could then feel comfortable perjuring himself all the way down the line. It’s actually what wasn’t said on the tape that convinces me Clemens did what McNamee said he did. You can say anything you want if you did nothing you are being accused of.

2. DNA - January 8, 2008

Here’s another opportunity for Clemens to clear his name…But, there were some room for clarification and nothing was justified. Make’s you go……uuummmppphhh !!!


Leave a Reply

